Top 15 NFL Passing Yards Career Leaderss- Year-by-Year from 1932 to 2020

Which are the 15 NFL players in the world who made the most Passing Yards from 1932 to 2020? In this video-timeline made thanks to the data in the NFL databases and the pro-football-reference website, the greatest NFL champions are shown. 

The ranking of the Top 15 NFL Passing Yards players (2020)

Less than a month ago, the final of the National Football League concluded. Final that saw the Tampa Bay Buccaneers win. With the score of 31 to 9 in fact the Tampa team was able to defeat the Kansas City Chiefs.

MVP of the match was Tom Brady, NFL legend who is currently in second place for the number of Passing Yards.

Just in this article, and in the video below, I would like to show you the evolution of the Top 15 NFL Passing Yards Career Leaders- Year-by-Year from 1932 to 2020.

Drew Bress currently tops this list with 80358 passing yards completed and leads it from 2017.. Drew Bress, the current Quaterback of the New Orleans Saints, started playing first in the Purdue Boilermakers’ junior league and then, from 2001 to 2005, played for the San Diego Chargers and finally from 2006 to date in the New Orelans Saints. In total, to date, Brees has played 287 games In second place is the aforementioned Tom Brady who is currently getting closer and closer to Drew Brees. The gap between the two has now narrowed to just over 1100 passes. It will certainly be interesting to see who between the two, in the few remaining years of their careers, will hold the top spot. In third place we find Peyton Manning and in fourth place Brett Favre. In this special ranking we also find NFL stars with Dan Marino, John Elway and Warren Moon.

Fran Tarkenton is the player who has been leading this ranking for the longest time.

But who was the NFL player in the world who was first for the longest time? The answer is Fran Tarkenton. The former quaterback, inducted into the hall of fame in 1986, topped this list from 1975 until 1994. In 1994, in fact, he was surpassed by Dan Marino.

Dan Marino, who in turn is second, in terms of number of years. In fact, Marino led this ranking from 1994 until 2007. Year in which he was surpassed by Brett Favre who in turn was surpassed in 2015 by Peyton Manning. It is also interesting to note that Arnie Herber, from 1932 to 1942 was first in this ranking. In years when, evidently, the first of the ranking still had scores all in all “low” compared to today.

Sources and useful links

To made this article I use: pro-football-reference website

Read more news here:

Support “Statistics and Data”

Other interesting data